The Weekend Edition - Sleep In. Slow Down. Enjoy.

The Weekend Series: How to stretch out your annual leave in 2018

The Weekend Series: How to stretch out your annual leave in 2018

Daydreaming of a holiday while stuck in the office? Pack your bags and get ready to trade your nine-to-five for sunnier landscapes – for more than just the weekend! Maintaining your work-life balance and finding the right time of year to take your annual leave can be stressful and sometimes scary. The solution: taking your annual leave around public holidays to maximise your well-deserved break. Whether you want take a road-trip to sunny Byron, a luxurious getaway to the Maldives or just couch surf until your heart’s desire, we’ve got the guide to make your holidays last a little longer.


January
Ah, summer. The heat is sizzling and so are the snags on the backyard barbie. Brisbane always has an abundance of activities in the warmer months, whether it be rooftop parties, long lunches or late-night gigs, but that doesn’t mean you should feel guilty when it comes to taking an early vacation. The Australia Day public holiday lands on Friday January 26, so be sure to make the most of the long weekend and try and make it a week-long holiday! We’re thinking a trip to Noosa is a great idea for a dose of summer sun and sea breeze or head south to Byron Bay for good food, good weather and good times.

Swap four days annual leave for a nine-day break:
Holiday period: Saturday January 20 to Sunday, January 28
Public holiday: Friday January 26 (Australia Day)
Days to take off: Monday January 22, Tuesday January 23, Wednesday January 24, Thursday January 25
Imagevisitnoosa.com.au

April and May
Ah, the Easter holidays. Perfect weather, chocolate bunnies and plenty of long weekends to take advantage of! Hop at the opportunity to make the most of your Easter break and fill up on hot-cross buns, Creme Eggs, and carrots (for all you health conscious people out there). Alternatively, pack your sunscreen and beachwear and check out our top five weekend beach getaways that stray from the path or get exploring in style with some luxe glamping ideas.

Swap four days of annual leave for a ten-day break:
Holiday period: Friday March 30 to Sunday April 8
Public holidays: Friday March 30 (Good Friday), Saturday March 31 (Easter Saturday), Sunday April 1 (Easter Sunday), Monday April 2 (Easter Monday)
Days to take off: Tuesday April 3, Wednesday April 4, Thursday April 5, Friday April 6

Or swap nine days of annual leave for a 17-day break:
Holiday period: Saturday April 21 to Monday May 7
Public holidays: Wednesday April 25 (ANZAC Day), Monday May 7 (Labour Day)
Days to take off: Monday April 23, Tuesday April 24, Thursday April 26, Friday April 27, Monday April 30, Tuesday May 1, Wednesday May 2, Thursday May 3, Friday May 4

August
Strawberry ice-cream enthusiasts and Dagwood dog lovers rejoice! Queensland’s largest and most beloved annual event arrives every year in the middle of August. Approximately half a million people are set to congregate at the 2018 Ekka (Royal Queensland Show) with the public holiday falling on August 11. If you want to escape the masses, we would suggest you take a few extra days off, enjoy the last month of cooler weather and explore the great outdoors with our favourite natural hideaways.

Swap four days annual leave for a luxurious nine days of holiday:
Holiday period: Saturday August 11 to Sunday August 19
Public holiday: Wednesday August 15 (Royal Queensland Show)
Days to book: Monday August 13, Tuesday August 14, Thursday August 16, Friday August 17
Image: Tourism Queensland

October
October is the time of year when travel jitters start to kick in if you haven’t yet had your annual dose of sight-seeing. It can also be the best time of year to travel overseas with heaps of amazing travel deals coming through your inbox. Monday October 1 is the day Queensland celebrates the Queen’s Birthday, so get ready to stretch your weekend out a bit longer and holiday like a royal (without breaking the bank). Prepare to see the world with these five holidays under $2500!

Here’s how you can swap four days of annual leave for nine days of holiday:
Holiday period: Saturday September 29 to Sunday October 7
Public holiday: Monday October 1 (Queen’s Birthday)
Days to take off: Tuesday October 2, Wednesday October 3, Thursday October 4, Friday October 5
Image: World Expeditions

December
The season to be jolly, eat your weight’s worth in festive treats, and say farewell to the eventful year that has passed. The Christmas/New Year holidays are also the perfect time to quench your wanderlust with the weather well and truly warmed up and plenty of options when it comes to taking your accumulated annual leave. Whether it be a girls trip to Sydney or a road trip to the Whitsundays – you’ll return to work relaxed, enlightened and eager to do it all again in the New Year.

In December you can exchange seven days of leave for a whopping 16-day break:
Holiday period: Saturday December 22 to Sunday January 6
Public holidays: Tuesday December 25 (Christmas Day), Wednesday December 26 (Boxing Day), Tuesday January 1 (New Year’s Day)
Days to take off: Monday December 24, Thursday December 27, Friday December 28, Monday December 31, Wednesday January 2, Thursday January 3, Friday January 4
Images: Tourism and Events Queensland



Suggested Gentlefolk Reads

The Weekend Series: five summer essentials to upgrade your camping to glamping

The Weekend Series: five summer essentials to upgrade your camping to glamping

… more

The Weekend Series: Where to go chasing waterfalls this summer

The Weekend Series: Where to go chasing waterfalls this summer

… more

The Weekend Series: five podcasts you should definitely be listening to

The Weekend Series: five podcasts you should definitely be listening to

… more

Unleash your inner badass at Zero Latency, Brisbane’s first free-roam virtual reality experience

Unleash your inner badass at Zero Latency, Brisbane’s first free-roam virtual reality experience

… more

back to top