Perched on the corner of Brunswick and Barker Streets in New Farm, the beautiful old building of New Farm Cinemas has had quite an interesting century. Opening as Merthyr Picture Palace in 1921, changing names to Merthyr Astor Theatre in 1951 and then reopening as the Village Twin in 1970, the historic venue was closed down in 2002 and has sat dormant for more than a decade. Fortunately, owners of the Yatala Drive-In and passionate film buffs, brothers Peter and Stephen Sourris, bought the building in early 2013 and carried out extensive renovations to resurrect the local landmark. The Queensland Heritage Register-listed building has stayed true to its history but benefitted from the addition of state-of-the-art technology, now being the first cinema in the country to boast a Vive surround-sound system. The 3D-capable Purple and Bronze Rooms will open first, with the remaining four cinemas scheduled to open by the end of 2014. The boutique cinema will screen predominantly mainstream films, while also nourishing filmgoers and local residents with a licensed bar, coffee and gelato shop, and candy bar. Grab a movie-themed cocktail and pizza and kick back in the retro cinema lobby amongst vintage film relics and arcade games.
New Farm Cinemas
- Location & Contact